Versailles

One of the main advantages of having your school on the palace of Versailles grounds is that you are a quick walk away and you can get in for free. This means never having to see it with a crowd.  I have been here a couple of years ago, but the mass of space and gold and art is overwhelming.  Not that I completely love all of the gilding and luxurious colors, but there is something to be noted that this overt sense of opulence in a sense was a main factor in the french revolution.  What is especially interesting is that it is now a main tourist attraction in France; but for the millions of viewers who gape in the hall of mirrors, is there a thought to the strife that this magnificent show of craftsmanship has caused? Or should we just appreciate the arts that are presented and pretend we are all Marie Antoinette?Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 comments
  1. Niki said:

    Your pictures are looking awesome! They are making me really excited to come visit you. I don’t know if I can handle any pictures from the market because I don’t want to ruin the Kenosha market. Looks like you are having a good time. Of course I know it would be better with me there. Keep posting awesome pictures so I can live through you!

  2. AD said:

    I think the first picture is just a picture of a watercolor. Are you really sure you are there and not in Champaign?

Leave a Reply

