Paris holds the key to my heart

Yes, that is the title of the best Anastasia song, which is the best movie ever. Therefore ’tisthe best song ever. Especially since it has been stuck in my head continually for the last 4 days. Animated films are real right? Anyways, Yesterday we went to Paris! It is much more beautiful than I remembered. When I came here 3 years ago I was distracted by the sheer numbers of people and the lack of pristine surfaces that I am so accustomed to in Chicago.  I guess I couldn’t see the beauty of natural wear and tear due to history since I was so used to the frozen in time monuments such as Chicago’s John Hancock or the Natural History Museum. I love that back in Chicago, buildings are maintained to a level that they appear almost exactly as they were built. It allows us to see the architecture as it was intended to be seen. But I have grown to see a different side of architecture. Paris’s shear size of weathered buildings prohibits it from being like Chicago, but instead it relishes the history that has created the damage.  In Paris age is meant to be honored and respected. It is very interesting to see the difference between the two cities and how architecture matches the mentality of the town.  Chicago continually reinvents itself, and while an extremely young city, its focus is on creating the new and exciting thing regardless of what might be there before it.  Paris in turn highlights its history almost to a fault.  Even new Parisian buildings rely on either classical french style or Le Corbusier’s designs with very little change.  Well that is my thought at least after being here for four days, I’ll let you know how off base I am at the end of this.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

4 comments
  1. Elaine and Ken Harju said:

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing with us. Beautiful! Breathtaking!

  2. Patty said:

    J’adore Paris!!! Your pictures are absolutely beautiful!!!!! Keep them coming! I’m jealous…..

Leave a Reply

